An extraordinary chance to visit the Palace of Fernán Núñez, an 18th century gem that is usually closed to the public.
The 1st Duke of Fernán Núñez started construction on this neoclassical palace in 1790. Its current appearance is the result of a remodelling undertaken by his son-in-law, the Count of Cervellón, with the purpose of turning it into one of the most outstanding residences in Madrid in the mid-19th century. The refurbishment mainly affected the interior, in which the original building was adapted to the prevailing romanticism of the day.
The palace is divided into two areas: the noble area and the service area and stables. The noble area, which is the best-preserved, is decorated with a profusion of rugs and tapestries from the Real Fábrica de Santa Bárbara, some replicas of Goya’s tapestry cartoons, as well as inlays on the floors and ceilings, Baccarat crystal lamps, silk fabrics, marble, bronze, exuberantly gilded furniture and other luxurious details.
The most important quarters in the palace include the Welcome Courtyard with the main staircase, the Stucco Room, the Hall of the Lost Steps and the Loggia, the Red Hall (main office) and the Children’s Dining Room, and the Walnut Staircase.
The Palace of Fernán Núñez has been the headquarters of the Fundación de los Ferrocarriles Españoles (Spanish Railway Foundation) since 1985. Purchased in 1940 by the Compañía de los Ferrocarriles del Oeste de España, in 1941 it became the headquarters of the RENFE Board of Directors upon the nationalisation of the railway companies.